Pastoral Care

Pastoral House System

Our Pastoral Care relates to academic, spiritual, emotional and physical welfare, and is the responsibility of every member of staff.  Structures exist to centralise information on individuals with Heads of House, Tutors and class teachers. In terms of pastoral care, it is the college’s aim:

  • To ensure that every student is known in depth by at least two members of staff and that there is at least one adult within the college in whom individuals can confide.
  • To make regular appraisal of individuals in an attempt to pre-empt and avert crises in academic and social development.
  • To provide a point of reference for external agencies engaged in counselling, assessment and family support where necessary.
  • To seek out, make known and develop special interests which may not emerge through the academic programme

In K-6 all students are allocated to one of three Houses. Each house is divided vertically and students participate in carnivals and school activities within their House. Pastoral Care of students is the responsibility of the class teacher, supported by all staff, our College psychologist and Head of K-6.

The K-6 Houses are named after famous Australian pioneers in different fields.

Chisholm (1808-1877) – Caroline Chisholm was known as ‘the emigrant’s friend’. She earned this title for her work with poor migrants to Australia last century. She graced the $5 note for more than 20 years and is remembered as a social activist and philanthropist.

Flynn (1880-1951) – Rev. John Flynn was the Presbyterian minister to the outback. He founded the Royal Flying Doctor Service, School of the Air and many other services to outback people. He wanted to create a ‘mantle of safety’ over the inland. His face is on the $20 note.

Walton (1915-2009) – Nancy Bird-Walton was a pioneering woman aviatrix who was the youngest woman to hold a commercial pilot’s licence at 19. She worked for the Royal Flying Doctor Service becoming known as the angel of the Outback.

The 7-12 Houses are also named after famous Australian pioneers in their field, Dobell-Culture, Durack-Sport, Florey-Research, Mawson-Exploration, Monash-Public Service and Oodgeroo-Literature.

In 7-12 all students are allocated to one of the six Houses.  Each house is divided vertically into Tutor groups of approximately 15 students, with students from each year group represented, all under the control of a member of staff (i.e. Tutor).  Tutor groups meet each day with the full House coming together at a regular Assembly.  Pastoral Care of students, therefore, is managed at the individual level by the House Tutor, as well as by the Head of House, staff, College psychologist and the Deputy Head – Pastoral K-12.

Sir William Dobell – (1899 – 1970) was an artist whose works were representative of new styles and directions in Australian art.  Dobell is known mainly as a portrait painter although he did paint landscapes.  Dobell’s unique style embodies the pioneering attributes of originality and a sense of adventure, of exploring new techniques and pushing innovative and creative boundaries.

Sarah Durack – (1899 – 1956) had to fight for her right to represent  Australia in swimming at the 1923 Stockholm Olympic Games where she became the first Australian woman to win a swimming gold medal at an Olympics.  Later she broke twelve world records and at one time held every record in women’s swimming from 50 yards to one mile.  A person of great determination, Sarah Durack pursued her goals but never lost sight of fairness and justice.

Lord Howard Florey – 1898 – 1968) was a scientist and a co-discoverer of penicillin.  Born in Adelaide, Florey became a Professor of pathology at Oxford University where he made his discoveries.  Florey shared the 1945 Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine.  Florey was never interested in fame.  He simply sought to help people and the knowledge to do this.

Sir Douglas Mawson – (1898 – 1958), was an Australian Antarctic explorer, geologist and academic.  First involved with Shackleton and Scott, Mawson later led three expeditions to Antarctica gathering valuable scientific data and mapping 1,500kms of coastline.  He was an explorer of courage, fortitude, endurance and resolve.

Sir John Monash – (1865 – 1931), engineer and soldier, was probably Australia’s greatest military leader, serving successfully in Gallipoli and on the Western Front during the First World War.  Monash was knighted on the field of battle, a distinction which had not been given to a British soldier for nearly 200 years.  Loved by his troops, Monash always put the good of others ahead of his own.

Oodgeroo Noonuccal – (1920 – 1993), formerly known as Kath Walker, was an Aboriginal poet and civil rights leader.  Born a member of the Noonuccal tribe on North Stradbroke Island (Moreton Bay), she educated herself and later began to write poetry, and lecture on Aboriginal issues at Australian universities and at international conferences.  Oodgeroo Noonuccal was a campaigner against all forms of injustice and a believer in reconciliation.